FDA company announcement · Nov 2 company / Nov 3 FDA publish · Snack Right Super Foods dba Brad's Raw Chips · Last updated

Is Brad's Crunchy Kale recalled?

Yes — certain Brad's Plant Based Crunchy Kale (2 oz) and Veggie Chips Kale (3 oz) lots. FDA posted the firm's recall because the products may contain thallium. Scope is 4 SKUs / 11 lots only (see table). About 25,000 bags (about 2,097 cases) estimated in commerce after nationwide distribution through KeHE and UNFI (Oct–Dec 2025), plus five direct consumers. Stop eating it and discard it. No refund; do not return it to the store. Official text does not disclose confirmed illnesses or deaths. Questions: [email protected] (Mon–Fri 10:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m. Eastern).

Last updated: · Primary: FDA company announcement (company Nov 2, 2026; FDA publish Nov 3, 2026). Do not invent Class / H-number. Do not expand lot list to CDPH's wider May 2026 advisory SKUs.

Hazard
possible thallium
SKU / lots
4 products / 11 lots
Volume
~25,000 bags (~2,097 cases)
Distribution
nationwide KeHE + UNFI (Oct–Dec 2025)
Illnesses
not disclosed on FDA notice
Remedy
discard · no refund · do not return

Check UPC & lot ↓ · What to do ↓

Which Brad's kale products are recalled

Match bag UPC, lot, and Best By to this FDA table. Only these 11 lots are in the November FDA company announcement:

ProductSizeUPCLotBest By
Brad's Crunchy Kale, Original2 oz (57g)81310402167933525-1Feb 1, 2027
33525-2Feb 1, 2027
33525-3Feb 1, 2027
34525-1Feb 11, 2027
35125-2Feb 17, 2027
Brad's Crunchy Kale, Cheeze It Up2 oz (57g)81310402187735025-3Feb 16, 2027
Brad's Crunchy Kale, Radical Ranch2 oz (57g)81310402072629425-1Dec 21, 2026
Brad's Veggie Chips Kale3 oz (85g)85461500205433225-3Jan 28, 2027
33325-2Jan 29, 2027
33425-1Jan 30, 2027
33525-1Feb 1, 2027
  1. Brand on bags: Brad's Plant Based / Brad's (firm dba Brad's Raw Chips).
  2. Count check: Original 5 + Cheeze It Up 1 + Radical Ranch 1 + Veggie Chips 4 = 11 lots.
  3. Not in this FDA recall table: Vampire Killer, Balsamic Salad Snack, Ranch Salad Snack, Nacho (those appear on a separate CDPH May 2026 advisory — different document, do not merge).

Thallium risk

FDA-posted reason: product may contain thallium. Thallium is a naturally occurring metal that plants can take up; brassicas such as kale are noted. Acute or chronic exposure at relatively high levels can result in serious adverse health effects, including gastroenteritis, damage to peripheral nerves, and alopecia (hair loss), per FDA.

The firm states the manufacturing process did not introduce the contaminant; dehydration removes about 85–90% of water and can concentrate elements already present in fresh kale.

FDA mentions CDPH advised consumers not to eat certain Brad's Plant Based products after investigating an inquiry from one individual with elevated thallium levels, and that FDA advised the firm of thallium in tested products. The company announcement does not disclose confirmed illnesses or deaths for this recall — this page does not invent counts.

This page is not medical advice. Seek care if you have concerning symptoms after eating a recalled lot.

What to do (discard · no refund)

  1. Stop consuming any recalled lot immediately.
  2. Discard the product.
  3. Do not return it to the place of purchase. Refunds are not being offered.
  4. Questions: email [email protected] (Alexa Olvera, Snack Right Super Foods), Monday–Friday 10:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m. Eastern Time; expect a response within one business day.

More: what to do with a recalled product · how to find a lot number · search FDA food recalls

Where it was sold

Distributed nationwide through KeHE Distributors and United Natural Foods, Inc. (UNFI), and sold directly to five individual consumers. Distribution window: October 2025 through December 2025. Estimated ~25,000 bags (~2,097 cases) still in commerce (FDA).

Not the wider May 2026 CDPH Brad's list

A CDPH May 19, 2026 advisory covered a broader Brad's Plant Based set. This page follows the FDA November company announcement only (4 SKUs / 11 lots). Do not treat Vampire Killer, Balsamic Salad Snack, Ranch Salad Snack, or Nacho as recalled under this FDA notice.

Official sources

No FDA Class / H-number on the company announcement — left blank on purpose. Not affiliated with FDA, CDPH, Snack Right Super Foods, KeHE, or UNFI.

Latest food recalls

FAQ

Is Brad's Crunchy Kale recalled?

Yes. FDA posted Snack Right Super Foods, Inc. (dba Brad's Raw Chips) company announcement on November 3, 2026 (company date November 2, 2026) for certain Brad's Plant Based Crunchy Kale (2 oz) and Brad's Veggie Chips Kale (3 oz) products that may contain thallium.

Which products, UPCs, lots, and Best By dates are included?

Four SKUs / 11 lots only: (1) Crunchy Kale Original 2 oz UPC 813104021679 lots 33525-1/2/3 (Best By Feb 1, 2027), 34525-1 (Feb 11, 2027), 35125-2 (Feb 17, 2027); (2) Crunchy Kale Cheeze It Up 2 oz UPC 813104021877 lot 35025-3 (Feb 16, 2027); (3) Crunchy Kale Radical Ranch 2 oz UPC 813104020726 lot 29425-1 (Dec 21, 2026); (4) Veggie Chips Kale 3 oz UPC 854615002054 lots 33225-3 (Jan 28, 2027), 33325-2 (Jan 29, 2027), 33425-1 (Jan 30, 2027), 33525-1 (Feb 1, 2027). Do not expand to CDPH's wider May 2026 advisory list.

Why was it recalled?

Product may contain thallium. FDA notes brassica crops such as kale can accumulate elements from soil; dehydration concentrates elements already present. Manufacturing did not introduce the contaminant per the firm notice.

Were illnesses or deaths reported?

The FDA-posted company announcement does not disclose confirmed illnesses or deaths. It mentions California Department of Public Health previously investigated an inquiry from one individual with elevated thallium levels. This page does not invent case counts.

What should I do if I have a recalled lot?

Stop consuming it immediately and discard the product. Refunds are not being offered, and the product should not be returned to the place of purchase. If you believe you had adverse health effects, contact a health care provider. Questions: [email protected], Monday–Friday 10:00 a.m.–4:00 p.m. Eastern Time.

Where was it distributed?

Nationwide through KeHE Distributors and United Natural Foods, Inc. (UNFI), plus direct sales to five individual consumers. About 25,000 bags (about 2,097 cases) estimated in commerce. Distribution occurred between October 2025 and December 2025.

Is this the same as the May 2026 CDPH Brad's advisory?

Related but narrower. CDPH's May 19, 2026 advisory covered a wider set of Brad's Plant Based products. This FDA company announcement lists only the four SKUs and 11 lots above. Do not treat Vampire Killer, Balsamic Salad Snack, Ranch Salad Snack, or Nacho as part of this FDA recall scope.

Is there an FDA Class or H-number?

Not on the company announcement page. This page does not invent a Class listing or openFDA H-number.

Update log
  • Nov 4, 2026 — Shipped curated landing #70 from FDA company announcement (4 SKUs / 11 lots; ~25,000 bags; discard / no refund). Kept CDPH May advisory as cross-check only. No invented Class/H-number or illness counts. Fold into next daily/Sunday weekly; no catch-up daily.